Standards of Ethics- Clarified Values

Posted on February 16, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I decided to start this post by taking a look through my good, old CAS standards book. While I haven’t always felt deeply connected to the standards, I do believe that they provide an excellent frame of reference for my own standards of good practice within the profession. In many ways I consider them in the same light as I do student development theories, not always personally significant, but a good place to start.

The first standard that jumped out at me was Clarified Values. In many respects, I think this has a great deal to do with my work in student conduct. On a daily basis, I am asked to articulate OSU’s values and make decisions that reflect these same values. I have to scrutinize student’s decisions and explain to them how their actions both reflect their values and can have huge impacts on other people. This work has been the most challenging of my life and has forced me to identify my own personal and lifestyle values and how they influence my decision making. There have been times when I really wished I did not gain access to this unique window on the world. I have made poor decisions since joining this program and been forced to use my new academic knowledge to analyze them. I have acted in ways that were not in line with my deeply held beliefs and have struggled to play both student and conduct officer roles in my own head. However, if it were not for these learning opportunities and my new window on the world, I would not be as aware of how important the conduct process can be. I know how to ask others (and myself) the questions that get at the essence of why we make decisions and how these decisions influence our lives.

There is no way that I would have enjoyed my experience in conduct so much if I had not been able to act in congruence with my personal values. The fact that I got to treat every student with compassion and respect, the fact that every student got to share their story and have a say in the outcomes of our meetings, the fact that I never felt like a hypocrite for finding a student in violation of something I would have not taken responsibility for myself, the fact that I can walk around campus and see any student who I have had a meeting with and not feel like I mistreated or did a disservice to them in anyway- these are the facts that define my values- these are the things I will seek in future jobs.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    The challenges, successes and ideas of a budding (student affairs) professional

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

