Location, location, location

Posted on August 20, 2008. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Location: One of the benefits to having lived so many different places is knowing first-hand that there are certain regions/states where I am not interested in residing. While there is a small part of me that still feels adventurous and willing to go anywhere, which I think stems from my time in AmeriCorps, there is a larger part of me that knows it is no longer in my best interest to ignore my location preferences. On the personal side, I’m getting tired of moving and constantly having to rebuild my community. I need to be in a location where I can engage in the activities that keep me grounded and sane. Without these opportunities I will not be able to serve students and my university as a whole wholeheartedly. On a professional side, I realize that in order for me to do the best job possible I need to be invested in the institution I work for and able to stay long enough to create positive changes. At this point in my life, I am decidedly pulled towards searching for jobs in the western United States. In particular I see my job search focusing primarily on Colorado (where the majority of my family lives) as well as Arizona, Oregon, Washington, and Idaho. All of these states offer numerous opportunities for me to engage in outdoor pursuits as well as stay relatively close to family and friends.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Location, location, location”

RSS Feed for An Evolving (Student Affairs) Professional Comments RSS Feed

Don’t forget Iowa. It’s sort of western…it is west of the mississippi 😉

Good point Eric. Based on this logic I could work anywhere. I mean Maine is technically west of Europe, right?


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    The challenges, successes and ideas of a budding (student affairs) professional

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

