Journal entry #3- The trouble with being an intern

Posted on July 7, 2008. Filed under: NODA Journal |

So far the greatest hurdle I have faced during my internship has been gaining enough confidence from my supervisors to let me take on bigger tasks. We are currently mid-way through our orientation season and while I am quite certain that I have the knowledge and skills necessary to take on bigger tasks, I’m not sure I will ever get a chance to do so. In large part this has to do with the fact that the bigger tasks I am interested in taking on are tasks that professional advisors are currently responsible for completing. In this situation, I am seen as a bit of a liability. I am fairly certain that my direct supervisor has confidence in my ability, but other advisors and people above her are not ready to answer to concerned students, parents, and administrators who question why a graduate student is doing an advisor’s job. This leaves me trying to get as much professional experience and development as possible, while realizing that there are certain things I may never be able to do while I am here. It is frustrating and definitely something that I should probably discuss at greater length with my supervisor, but for now I’ll just leave it as an unsolved cases file.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Journal entry #3- The trouble with being an intern”

RSS Feed for An Evolving (Student Affairs) Professional Comments RSS Feed

[…] given more responsibilities. To read more about my experiences related to his challenge click here and  here. After coming home and being reintroduced to Peggy McIntosh’s article Unpacking […]


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    The challenges, successes and ideas of a budding (student affairs) professional

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

